History of Cedarburg
Cedarburg has a long and vivid history lovingly preserved in its limestone buildings, meandering creek and more than 200 buildings of historical significance. It was founded in the early 1840s by Irish and German immigrants who were lured to the potential of power from Cedar Creek. One of the first well-known buildings - the Cedarburg Grist Mill - remains a prominent reminder of the city’s dedication and care that it devotes to preservation. Another iconic building located in the center of town is the Wittenburg Mill. When it was built in 1864, it was the only woolen mill west of Philadelphia to produce worsted yarns. Today, the mill continues to thrive as the Cedar Creek Settlement, a collection of shops, artist studios, antique stores and restaurants.
Post-World War II suburbanization changed Cedarburg significantly. While the mills had all closed by the 1960s, the city experienced rapid population growth and the development of new commercial properties and housing subdivisions. In spite of the changes, more than 200 of Cedarburg's historic buildings have been preserved, and the city is home to eight listings on the National Register of Historic Places, including the Cedar Creek Settlement and the Columbia Road Historic District. The community profits from a vibrant tourist industry and hosts festivals and events throughout the year that attract visitors from other areas.
To view historic pictures of Cedarburg as captured by Harold C. Dobberpuhl, click here.
For more information regarding the history of Cedarburg, click here.